Annual Report

The Department

Following the changes to the Administrative Arrangements Order (AAO) on 18 September 2013, 3 October 2013 and 12 December 2013, the matters dealt with by the Prime Minister and Cabinet portfolio were expanded to include:

  • Commonwealth Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander policy, programmes and service delivery
  • promotion of reconciliation
  • community development employment projects
  • reducing the burden of government regulation
  • the Office for Women.

Following the changes to the AAO, the Prime Minister and Cabinet portfolio no longer deals with the following matters:

  • work and family policy coordination
  • social inclusion, non-profit sector and volunteering.

Departmental structure

As at 30 June 2014 the Department had four groups – Domestic Policy, National Security and International Policy, Governance, and Indigenous Affairs – as well as the G20 Taskforce. Detail on each Group’s role is provided below. The Department’s structure is at Figure 1.2.

Domestic Policy Group

The Domestic Policy Group supported the development of economic, environmental, and social policies. It coordinated the implementation of a whole of government deregulation agenda, and supported the Government’s priorities for gender equality and the empowerment of women. The Group coordinated the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) arrangements, and provided advice and support for the Budget process and policy advice in relation to the G20.

National Security and International Policy Group

The National Security and International Policy Group provided advice on Australia’s foreign policy, trade and treaty matters; defence; intelligence; non-proliferation; counter-terrorism; law enforcement; information sharing; cyber policy; border security and crisis management; and the coordination of the national security budget.

Governance Group

The Governance Group provided advice on legal policy, parliamentary and government matters and honours policy, as well as support services to the Prime Minister, the Cabinet, Cabinet committees and our Portfolio Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries. This Group delivered the Department’s enabling and support functions and also oversaw the implementation and ongoing delivery of key Government programmes, policies and initiatives. During the 2013–14 reporting period, for the purpose of administrative efficiency, the Group took responsibility for the G20 Operations Division.

Indigenous Affairs Group

The Indigenous Affairs Group is responsible for most Commonwealth Indigenous-specific policy and programmes. The Group works with other Commonwealth departments, State and Territory governments, Indigenous communities and organisations, and peak bodies to achieve the Government’s priorities of getting adults into jobs, getting children into school, and making communities safer.

G20 Taskforce

The G20 Taskforce oversees policy coordination and operational arrangements for Australia’s G20 presidency and coordinates Australia’s participation in the preparatory meetings for the Brisbane leaders summit.

Outcome and programme structure

The Department worked to achieve two outcomes:

  • Provide high quality policy advice and support to the Prime Minister, the Cabinet, Portfolio Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries including through the coordination of government activities, policy development and programme delivery; and
  • Improve results for Indigenous Australians including in relation to school attendance, employment and community safety, through delivering services and programmes, and through measures that recognise the special place that Indigenous people hold in this nation.

This programme structure is consistent with the outcome and programme framework (see Figure 1.1) and performance targets in the Portfolio Budget Statements and Portfolio Additional Estimates Statements 2013–14.

Figure 1.1 PM&C’s outcome and programme framework

a chart showing PM&C’s outcome and programme framework

Figure 1.2 Departmental structure as at 30 June 2014

a chart showing departmental structure as at 30 June 2014
Click to zoom