Commonwealth Coat of Arms Information and Guidelines

GovernmentPolicies and Guidelines
Monday, 01 December 2014
Publication author(s):
Australian Government Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
Publication abstract:

The Commonwealth Coat of Arms (the Arms) is the formal symbol of the Commonwealth of Australia that signifies Commonwealth authority and ownership.

The ‘Commonwealth of Australia’ is the legal entity established by the Constitution.  Where the term ‘Commonwealth Government’ has been used previously to refer to the national government, whether in relation to the elected government or the bureaucracy that serves it, it will normally be appropriate to replace it with ‘Australian Government’. 

Requests for permission to use the Arms outside the authorised uses detailed in these guidelines – such as in educational publications and media and use by Australian representative national sporting teams participating in international competitions – should be directed to the Honours, Symbols and Territories Branch.

Back to Resource Centre