New Ministry Sworn In

New Ministry Sworn In

Government Parliamentary Information
Wednesday, 29 May 2019

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

2019 Morrison ministry on the steps of Government House

The Prime Minister of Australia, the Hon Scott Morrison MP and his new ministry were sworn in today by the Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) at Government House.

Over a third of the new ministry are women and 23 ministers will serve in Cabinet. Members and Senators new to the ministry include:

  • The Hon Ben Morton MP
  • The Hon Nola Marino MP
  • Senator The Hon Jane Hume
  • Senator the Hon Jonathon Duniam
  • The Hon Jason Wood MP
  • The Hon Trevor Evans MP
  • The Hon Luke Howarth MP

Ministers with responsibilities within the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet portfolio include:

  • The Hon Scott Morrison MP – Prime Minister and Minister for the Public Service
    • The Hon Ben Morton MP – Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister and Cabinet
    • The Hon Greg Hunt MP – Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Public Service and Cabinet
  • Senator the Hon Marise Payne – Minister for Women
  • The Hon Ken Wyatt AM MP – Minister for Indigenous Australians
  • The Hon Stuart Robert MP - Minister for Government Services
  • The Hon David Littleproud MP – Minister for Water Resources, Drought, Rural Finance, Natural Disaster and Emergency Management

The Prime Minister and Cabinet portfolio continues to include the Office of the National Data Commissioner and the Joint Agency Drought Taskforce.

The Digital Transformation Agency will move to the Department of Human Services, which will be renamed Services Australia, in the Social Services portfolio.

For further information and a complete list of all ministers and assistant ministers, see the Ministry List. The updated Administrative Arrangements Order is also available.