National Emergency Medal

National Emergency Medal

Government It's an Honour
Thursday, 02 April 2020

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

The National Emergency Medal, established in 2011, is an operational service medal in the Australian Honours System awarded to first responders to emergencies that are deemed nationally significant. Until recently, that included the 2009 Victorian bushfires and the 2010-11 floods and Cyclone Yasi in Queensland.

The Governor-General, on the recommendation of the Government, has now declared Tropical Cyclone Debbie in 2017 and the 2019 North Queensland Floods as nationally significant emergencies for the purpose of the National Emergency Medal.

You can read the announcement at Cyclone and flood responders now eligible for National Emergency Medal.

Emergency services workers, including volunteers, who directly responded to these emergencies can now be nominated for the National Emergency Medal.

Nominations can come from the deploying organisations, or from the community. As nominations to receive the award require verification, nominations from deploying organisations are preferred.

Nominations are now open, find more information at