ASD releases Essential Eight Maturity Model

ASD releases Essential Eight Maturity Model

Cyber Security
Friday, 07 July 2017

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Strategies to mitigate cyber security incidents, a new cyber security baseline

The newly developed Essential Eight Maturity Model makes it easier for cyber security professionals to assess the level of implementation of the Essential Eight mitigation strategies. The model, developed by the Australian Signals Directorate (ASD), provides succinct guidance to address a broad range of cyber threats and is a useful tool for self-assessment. It is applicable to a range of organisations, from those facing standard risks to those constantly targeted by highly skilled adversaries or otherwise operating in a high risk environment.

The ASD Strategies to Mitigate Cyber Security Incidents are prioritised strategies to help organisations mitigate the most common cyber security threats. The most effective of these mitigation strategies for targeted cyber intrusions and ransomware are known as the Essential Eight. While no single mitigation strategy is guaranteed to prevent cyber security incidents, ASD recommends organisations implement a package of eight essential strategies as a baseline. This baseline makes it much harder for adversaries to compromise systems.

The strategies are informed by ASD's experience responding to cyber security incidents and performing vulnerability assessments of Australian government organisations.