Latest News - Statement by the Chair to the Senate Select Committee, COVID-19 Find out more

The Commission has two key roles: to help minimise and mitigate the impact of the COVID-19 on jobs and businesses, and to facilitate the fastest possible recovery of lives and livelihoods.

Neville Power, Chair of the National COVID-19 Coordination Commission

The Prime Minister announced the establishment of the National COVID-19 Coordination Commission on 25 March 2020.  The role of the Commission is to coordinate advice to the Australian Government on actions to anticipate and mitigate the economic and social impacts of the global COVID-19 pandemic.

The Commission is being led by Mr Neville Power and supported by an Executive Board of Directors drawn from across the business and not-for-profit sectors comprising: Mr Greg Combet AM, Ms Jane Halton AO PSM FAICD FIPPA, Mr Paul Little AO, Ms Catherine Tanna, and Mr David Thodey.

The chair and members of the Commission’s Executive Board are each leading the development of strategies and engagement within a specific stream or sector relevant to their expertise, with a focus on mobilising and coordinating public, private and not-for-profit actions.

They are joined by the Secretaries of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Mr Philip Gaetjens, and the Department of Home Affairs, Mr Mike Pezzullo.

The Commission is working across business-to-business and business-to-government networks to unlock resources, break through bottlenecks and fix problems so Australian businesses and communities are supported in the months ahead.

The Commission is advising the Prime Minister on all non-health aspects of the pandemic response, working in tandem with the Chief Medical Officer (CMO), Dr Brendan Murphy, ensuring the Government receives the most comprehensive advice available to meet the challenges ahead.

Terms of Reference