Prime Minister's Indigenous Advisory Council


The National Indigenous Australians Agency (NIAA) was established on 1 July 2019. Prior to this the functions of the Agency were delivered by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C). We are currently working through this transition and some content is yet to be transferred between websites. For the latest news from NIAA visit


The Prime Minister and the Minister for Indigenous Affairs Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion announced on 8 February 2017 the first six members appointed for the second term of the Prime Minister’s Indigenous Advisory Council. A further appointment on the recommendation of the Council was made on 22 May 2017.

Members are highly regarded, pre-eminent thinkers and practitioners who have been appointed to the Council for the depth of their experience in their respective fields and will bring a strong focus to policy design, implementation and practice.

The Council’s role is to advise Government on practical changes which can be made to improve the lives of Indigenous peoples.

The Council will see governments work together with Indigenous leaders to put Indigenous peoples at the centre of decision making.

The Council is currently Co-Chaired by Cr Roy Ah-See. Andrea Mason’s previous role as Co-Chair is currently vacant.

Latest News


Contact Us


Prime Minister’s Indigenous Advisory Council
C/- Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
PO Box 6500


Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.