Indigenous Higher Education Units


The National Indigenous Australians Agency (NIAA) was established on 1 July 2019. Prior to this the functions of the Agency were delivered by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C). We are currently working through this transition and some content is yet to be transferred between websites. For the latest news from NIAA visit


Indigenous Higher Education Units (IHEUs) are located in universities all around Australia. These units provide support to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students, create a network of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students/academics and provide an Indigenous presence on all Australian university campuses.

New South Wales



South Australia

Western Australia

Northern Territory


Australian Capital Territory

Latest News


Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this website may contain images and voices of deceased people.