Ambulance Service Medal

Ambulance Service front

Ambulance Service front
Ambulance Service back

Ambulance Service back


The Ambulance Service Medal recognises distinguished service by the men and women of Australia’s ambulance organisations.


Along with the Emergency Services Medal, the Ambulance Service Medal was introduced into the Australian system of honours in 1999.

The Ambulance Services Medal was established on 7 July 1999 by Letters Patent.


Brian Bayles ASM was awarded the Ambulance Service Medal in 2005

How it is awarded

The Governor-General awards the Ambulance Service Medal on recommendation from the appropriate Commonwealth, state and territory ministers.

The medal is awarded annually as follows:

  • no more than one award each year for each 1000, or part of 1000, full-time permanent members of a state’s ambulance service
  • one award for each 5000, or part of 5000, part-time volunteers or auxiliary members in a state
  • one award may be made each year for ambulance members in each of the ACT, NT and the combined external territories

The awards are announced on Australia Day (January 26) and the Queen’s Birthday (June) each year.

Only one award can be made to an individual. Recipients are entitled to the post-nominal ASM.

Medal Design

The Ambulance Service Medal is circular and of silver and bronze tones. The front of the medal displays the Federation Star superimposed on a modified Maltese Cross, which is representative of ambulance services. This rests on a bed of Australian wattle.

The Federation Star is surrounded by twenty-four balls signifying the twenty-four hours per day the Ambulance Service is available to the community.

The back of the medal bears the inscription ‘For Distinguished Service’.

Medal ribbon

The 32 millimetre-wide ribbon features a chevron or V-shaped pattern. The angles are derived from the open end of the arm of the cross. The chevrons are in alternate red, white, red, silver-grey.