Submission Group 1

The recent changes to the Marriage Act move directly against the Christian view of marriage, which is expressly between a man and a woman to the exclusion of all others.

I have deep concerns about the current lack of protected freedom to express my Christian understanding of marriage publicly.

Under human rights charters, religious freedoms not only include freedom of worship, but freedom to express these beliefs publicly.

I am concerned that Christian hospitals, aged care, education institutions and care organisations may be inhibited by anti-discrimination laws.

People should be free to publicly express their views about marriage without fear of legal repercussions, or fear of losing their jobs on the basis of expressing a view of marriage that differs from the law.

Religious organizations, including schools, must be free to employ only those people who uphold their beliefs, including their teaching on marriage.

I am concerned that other rights, such as freedom from discrimination, are considered more important than freedom of speech, conscience and religion.

I am concerned that if I publicly express my opposition to same-sex marriage, my opposition to transgender ideology or forms of sexual activity that I consider immoral, I could face action under discrimination, equal opportunity or vilification laws.

People can already be caught up in distressing, expensive or time consuming legal processes like Catholic Archbishop Julian Porteous, simply for expressing Christian teaching to other Christians.

Christian preachers should be free to publish religious material and online sermons without fear of being forced before a tribunal or commission on the basis of discrimination.

I am concerned that the law does not provide enough protection for people of faith to express religious views in the public square, places of employment, or educational institutions.

I would also like to see a 'no detriment' clause in anti-discrimination legislation, at state and federal level, and related laws to protect dissent on grounds of religious belief or conscience.

*The following people presented submissions which were substantially similar to, or variations of, this submission
Adrian den Boer Evelyn Siew Kelly Pratt Peter Coleborn
Adrian Geering Fiona Hassall Dr Michael and Katrina Mathai Peter Downie
Alex Hawes Geoff Unger Ken Francis Peter Robinson
Alicia McQueen George Cugley Kerry Schneider Peter Shliahov
Alison Rowe Georges El Boustani Kevin Hodges Peter Silke
Amanda Grobler Gervase Fitzpatrick Kevin Low Pranothi Nelson
Amy van Dongen Giuliano Sala Tenna Kim De Bruis Rachel Uoy
Andrea Wilk Graeme Young Kwong Man Lai Raymond Ewart
Andreea Nazarewycz Grant Purdie Leanne Labra Richard Kan
Andrew Fisher Grant Thorpe Lee Davy Robert Lewthwaite
Angela Sproats Greg and Susan Spaanderman Lenny Supandi Robyn Ferroff
Angelo Porcu Guy Muller Leonie Blume Robyn Lah
Anthony ONeill Heather Nott Les Aldridge Roderick Bevan
Barbara Shepherdson Helen Verwey Linda Bedford Rodney Derley
Belinda Veldman Ian McDonald Lindsay Doniger Roger Haines
Berni Hewawasam Ian McQueen Lindsay Jackel Romano Sala Tenna
Bienne Tam Ian Pertzel Lindsay Saunders Ros Phillips
Blesson Thomas Imelda Mary Aslett Lloyd Courtney Rosemary Spaanderman
Brian Rundell Ingrid Jeffries Louise Morgan-Jones Rowan Shann
Caleb Stephen Iona Phipps Louvaine Bos Russell Ashley
Carol Adriaansen Irene de Mel Lyndall Smouha Ruth Merrett
Catherine McNamara Jackie Roberts Thomson Lynne Clark Sandra Lazarus
Catherine McNamarra Jai Martinkovits Margaret Simonds Shane Davidson
Catherine Reynolds James Long Marian Dobinson Shane Jeffery
Cecylia Kee James Nolet Marian Watson Shani Gellie
Chantal Sullivan Janelle Miller Mark Hassall Simone Bennett
Cheow Yew Janet Aston Martin Hawkins Stanley Sequeira
Chris Haskard Jason Eade Matthew Foster Stephen Renn
Chris Jowsey Jean Writer Maureen Caraco Steve Mannyx
Christopher Tyrrell Jeannette Ramsey Meagan Smith Steven Roth
Claire Spark Jennifer Barnes Meryl Simmons Sue Rodrigo
Clare Bellamy Jennifer Rose Michael Pauley Susan McMurtrie
Colin Johnston Jeremy Spaanderman Moses Khor Sylvana Lamerand
Darrel McMahon Jimmy Widjaja Natalie Vanderheide Tanja Souter
Daryll Pain Jo Heazlewood Neil Burgess Teresa Selles
David Jenke Jody Eade Neil McKilligan Terri Marshall
David Phillips John Carson Nicole Jarman Therese Hungerford-Morgan
David Sukkar John Catling Nicole Prodigalidad Therese van Zutphen
Deryck Thomas John Koster Norma Cayzer Tim Lukins
Diana Bellussi John Lamerand Norma McInnes Tony Adriaansen
Diana Panetta John Lucas Norman Walker Tony Fisher
Diane Smithard John O'Regan Owen Blades Tracey Fielding
Don Sampson John Rivas Pat Versluis Valerie Pym
Dougal Pottie John Rumble Patricia Cotterell Vicki Collings
Elaine Cox John Wheeler Patricia Lesley Tilley Victor Evbenaye
Elizabeth Dee Jolanda Roth Patricia Noller Vincent Lloyd
Elizabeth Wilds Joseph Cho Patricia Pauley Wendy Kefford
Eric Adams Josiah Seet Paul Cheng Wendy Perry
Eric Greenham Judith Hunter Paul Dunn Willem Naude
Eric Young Karen Webb Paul Keighery William Pauley
Erin Matthews Kassie Phillips Paul Tomoiaga William Thompson
Estera Gheju Kathryn Huston Pauline Farley Yeow Beng
Euan McDonald Kay Anandasivam Peg Vincent Yvette Christian
Evan Beasley Joan Brady Michael Woods M. Wight
Clara Jones Glenda Dawson