Digital Technology Taskforce

On 20 November 2019, the Prime Minister announced the establishment of a Digital Technology Taskforce in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet to guide Australia on the path to being a leading digital economy by 2030.

The Taskforce has been asked to find ways to ensure all Australians can benefit from digital technology and be protected against harms. This includes considering how Government can promote productivity gains through the take up of digital technology across the Australian economy.

The Taskforce will work with industry, including large and small businesses, the community and with relevant Australian Government agencies. Digital technology is being considered across a large number of Australian Government agencies and reviews, including to meet possible skills gaps and the effects of increasing social media usage. The Taskforce will not displace this work, but will promote a joined up approach across government.

The Taskforce includes members from the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, The Treasury, the Attorney-General’s Department, the Department of Home Affairs, the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications, the Department of Education, Skills and Employment, and the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources.

The Taskforce will operate until mid-2021.

Scope of the Digital Technology Taskforce

Digital Experts Advisory Committee

The Digital Experts Advisory Committee has been established to help inform the work of the Taskforce. The members of the Committee are:

  • Sunita Bose, Managing Director Digital Industry Group Inc (DIGI)
  • Jeff Connolly, Chairman and CEO Siemens Ltd
  • Cheryl Hayman FAICD, Non-Executive Director, Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and Board member of Clover Corp, HGL Ltd and Shriro Holdings
  • Robert Hillard, Chairman Australian Information Industry Association and Chief Strategy and Innovation Officer, Deloitte Australia
  • Sue MacLeman, Chair MTPConnect (MedTech and Pharma Growth Centre -MTP-IIGC Ltd)
  • Oli Madgett, Co-Founder of Platfarm
  • Professor Jason Potts, Co-Director RMIT Blockchain Innovation Hub
  • Tim Reed, President Business Council of Australia
  • Michael Shoebridge, Director Defence, Strategy and National Security, Australian Strategic Policy Institute
  • Andrew Stevens, Chairman of the Data Standards Body for the Consumer Data Right implementation and  Chairman of Innovation and Science Australia
  • Lauren Solomon, Chief Executive Officer Consumer Policy Research Centre
  • Wendy Stops, Non-Executive Director - CBA, Coles, Fitted for Work and Council Member – University of Melbourne
  • Peter Strong, Chief Executive Officer COSBOA Council of Small Business Organisations Australia
  • Chris Vonwiller, Chairman Appen

The Committee will meet every quarter until mid-2021.

Latest News