

Acting minister arrangements

4 May to 30 June 2025

Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry – Nil

Attorney-General's - Nil

Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water

δM
X

Minister	Start date	End date	Acting Minister
Watt	6 June 2025	13 June 2025	Bowen
Watt	21 June 2025	5 July 2025	Ayres (21 June to 29 June) C King (30 June to 5 July)

Defence

Minister	Start date	End date	Acting Minister
Burke	14 May 2025	16 May 2025	Butler
Marles	29 May 2025	14 June 2025	Conroy
Conroy	22 June 2025	26 June 2025	Keogh
Marles	22 June 2025	27 June 2025	Bowen

Education – Nil

Employment and Workplace Relations - Nil

Finance

Minister	Start date	End date	Acting Minister
Farrell	1 June 2025	6 June 2025	Rishworth

Foreign Affairs and Trade

Minister	Start date	End date	Acting Minister
Wong	14 May 2025	16 May 2025	Gallagher
Wong	19 May 2025	22 May 2025	Ayres
Farrell	1 June 2025	6 June 2025	Rishworth
Conroy	22 June 2025	26 June 2025	Keogh
Aly	28 June 2025	4 July 2025	Gallagher (Minister for Small Business) Burke (Minister for Multilateral Affairs) Ayres (Minister for International Development)
Wong	30 June 2025	4 June 2025	Burke

Health, Disability and Ageing

Minister	Start date	End date	Acting Minister
Butler	28 June 2025	13 July 2025	Rishworth (28 June to 3 July) Burke (4 to 8 July 2025) Rishworth (9 to 13 July)

Home Affairs

Minister	Start date	End date	Acting Minister
Burke	14 May 2025	16 May 2025	Butler
Aly	28 June 2025	4 July 2025	Gallagher (Minister for Small Business) Burke (Minister for Multilateral Affairs) Ayres (Minister for International Development)

Industry, Science and Resources - Nil

Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts

Minister	Start date	End date	Acting Minister
Burke	14 May 2025	16 May 2025	Butler

Prime Minister and Cabinet

Minister	Start date	End date	Acting Minister
Albanese	14 May 2025	21 May 2025	Marles
Albanese	13 June 2025	19 June 2025	Marles
McCarthy	23 June 2025	29 June 2025	Gallagher

Social Services

Minister	Start date	End date	Acting Minister
Butler	28 June 2025	13 July 2025	Rishworth (28 June to 3 July) Burke (4 to 8 July 2025) Rishworth (9 to 13 July)

Treasury

Minister	Start date	End date	Acting Minister
Aly	28 June 2025	4 July 2025	Gallagher (Minister for Small Business) Burke (Minister for Multilateral Affairs) Ayres (Minister for International Development)
Chalmers	28 June 2025	6 July 2025	Gallagher

Veterans' Affairs (Defence portfolio) - Nil

Note: In practice, acting arrangements begin from a specific time on a day. This may result in more than one minister being listed as acting on a particular day.