Australia Day Honours

Australia Day Honours

Government It's an Honour
Thursday, 14 January 2016

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

The announcement of the Australia Day Honours by the Governor-General is an important part of Australia Day celebrations.

The honours recognise role models in the community and in so doing, they encourage values all Australians can relate, and aspire to.

We also give honours as a way to thank those who make a difference, who have achieved their best and those who serve others.

The Australian Honours system is unique because it relies on public nominations, a process vital to ensuring that nominations cover the diversity of service and contribution of all Australians. Because of this nomination process, these honours reflect the values the community holds dear – ingenuity, selflessness, commitment and community service.

The most well-known honours are those in the Order of Australia, which has four levels:

  • Companion (AC) for achievement and merit of the highest degree
  • Officer (AO) for service of a high degree
  • Member (AM) for service in a particular locality or field of activity or to a particular group
  • Medal (OAM) for service worthy of particular recognition.

Australian Honours are also announced on the Queen’s Birthday in June.

The 2016 Australia Day honours list will be released on the Governor-General’s website soon after the announcement of the winners.

Further information about the Australian Honours system, including how to nominate an individual for an honour, is available on the It's An Honour website.